Transport Sector B-BBEE Charter Council


On the 6th of November 2014, Cabinet released a statement noting the appointment of the Transport Sector B-BBEE Charter Council members. The Minister of Transport, formally launched the council and its chairperson, Mr Randall Howard, by unveiling it to the public on the 11th of December 2014.the council is made up of sixteen main members and sixteen alternate members. Some of the key mandates for the council are as below:

  • To facilitate implementation of programmes that fast-track Broad Based BEE in the Transport Sector in order to ensure that a favourable environment for Broad-Based BEE to flourish exists;
  • To advise the Minister on BEE related legislative and regulatory developments;
  • To facilitate the communication and popularization of the charter and scorecard;
  • To provide interpretation and guidance with respect to the Charter and Scorecard;
  • To facilitate the provision of practical implementation support to the industry; and
  • To liaise with DTI accredited agencies to monitor the Charter and Scorecard implementation.

Below are the nominated Charter Council:

Sub-Sector Main Members Alternate Members
Charter Council Chairperson Mr Randall Barry Howard Mr Buthelezi Nkanyiso
Public Sector Mr Ismail Noormahomed Essa  
Small Business Organisations Ms Fusi Makhasane  
Maritime Transport and Services Ms Ntokozo Jennifer Sabelo Mr Lancelot Noni Manala
Youth Representative Ms Hlamalani Baloyi Mr Mvuso Mtythobile
Forwading and Cleaning Mr Colgate Nangu Ms Pillay Lorraine
RAIL Ms Cleopatra Shiceka Mr Nkululeko Poya
Domestic Aviation Ms Sibongile Sambo Mr Vivendra Lochan
Road Freight Mr Tabudi Ramakgolo Mr Aluwani Percy Ramabulana
People Living with Disability Ms Joy Sebenzile P. Matsebula Mr Joseph Tekelo
Bus Commuter and Coach Services Ms Verlene Manuel Mr Simlindile Hintsa
Organised Labour Representative Mr Herry Tshamunwe Masindi Ms Veronica Mesatywa
Foreign-Owned Airlines Aviation Ms Carol-Anne Cairns Mr Moses Mwanjirah
Taxi Mr Philip Taaibosch Mr John Loyd Duduetsang Kgori
Wowen Representative Ms Mary Phadi Ms Zodwa Mlandu
Commuter Representative
(Civil Service Associations / Commuter Organisation
Mr Stephen Sangweni Mr Thabiso Brian Malatsi

Copyright © 2023 Department Of Transport. All rights reserved. Republic of South Africa. | Privacy Statement | Terms Of Use